

## STATE OF INDIANA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

THIRD FLOOR STATE HOUSE INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA 46204

Jim Lucas State Representative

200 West Washington Street Indianapolis, Indiana 46204 h69@iga.in.gov

317-234-9447

Committees:

Government and Regulatory Reform Veterans Affairs and Public Safety Public Policy

The Honorable Eric Holcomb 200 West Washington Street Indianapolis, Indiana 46250

May 25, 2021

Dear Governor Holcomb,

In light of a recent announcement from Indiana University (IU) regarding mandating students accept the COVID-19 vaccine, a vaccine that does not have full FDA approval, we urge you to use your executive authority to prohibit state universities from mandating such a requirement.

Nobody is disputing that COVID-19 is real, or dismissing the contributions of healthcare professionals over the past year; however, enforcing a mandate that students and faculty accept a vaccine that does not have full FDA approval is unconscionable. Students' classes will be dropped, others will be ostracized from IU, and employees will be terminated per this new policy.

While you have publically stated that you are against mandatory COVID-19 vaccines, we urge you to use your authority to prohibit state universities from mandating vaccines that do not have full FDA approval.

Sincerely,

State Representative

District 69

Beau Baird

State Representative

District 44

Stephen Bartels

State Representative

District 74

Martin Carbaugh

State Representative

District 81

Sean Eberhart

State Representative

District 57

Bob Heaton

State Representative

District 46

Matt Hostettler

State Representative

District 64

State Representative

District 93

Chris Judy

State Representative

District 83

Coming Leabether Shan M. Linkanes Cindy Ledbetter

State Representative

District 75

Shane Lindauer

State Representative

District 63

Chris May

State Representative

District 65

Peggy Mayfield

State Representative

District 60

**Bob Morris** 

State Representative

District 84

Curt Nisly

State Representative

District 22

J.D Prescott

State Representative

District 33

Hal Slager

State Representative

District 15

Heath VanNatter

State Representative

District 38

Denny Zent

State Representative

District 51