RTDNA Announces 2024 Region 7 Edward R. Murrow Award Winners

The Radio Television Digital News Association has announced Region 7 winners of the Edward R. Murrow Awards and several of them have gone to IPBS member stations and IPB News. WFIU/WTIU was honored with seven awards. WFYI earned one award. And IPB News was awarded for excellence in innovation. Region 7 comprises Illinois, Indiana, Michigan and Ohio. 

Major Taylor: Champion of the Race

Explore the remarkable life and legacy of speed cycling champion, civil rights activist, and Hoosier hero Marshall Walter “Major” Taylor through this documentary produced by WTIU. Scan the QR code with your smartphone to watch a preview. This documentary airs beginning Monday, February 26. Check local PBS station listings for dates and times. 

WVPE’s Anthony Hunt Elected IPBS Board Chair

The Indiana Public Broadcasting Stations, Inc. (IPBS) board of directors has elected Anthony Hunt as its new chairman.  Hunt is the general manager of 88.1 WVPE-FM in Elkhart, which serves parts of northern Indiana and southern Michigan.

Indiana Public Broadcasting Stations, Inc. Announces Inaugural Hall of Fame Inductees

(Indianapolis, Indiana, July 17, 2023) Today Indiana Public Broadcasting Stations, Inc. (IPBS) announced its inaugural class of inductees into the IPBS Hall of Fame.  The inductees are: Perry Metz – Former Executive Director of Indiana University Radio and Television Services and General Manager of WFIU/WTIU (Bloomington), Dr. Joe Misiewicz – Former General Manager of Ball State Public Media and Emeritus Chair of the Department of Telecommunications at Ball State University (Muncie), Roger Rhodes – Former Executive Director Indiana Public Broadcasting Stations, Inc. and General Manager of WFWA-TV (Fort Wayne), and Lloyd Wright – Former President and CEO of WFYI Public Media (Indianapolis).

WNIT and Other Broadcasters Launch NextGen TV in South Bend

South Bend, IN – June 29, 2023 – The leading television stations serving the South Bend-Elkhart television market today began broadcasting with NextGen TV, a revolutionary new digital broadcast technology. Today’s launch includes WSJV (H&I), WNIT (PBS), WSBT-TV (CBS and Fox), WNDU-TV (NBC), and WHME-TV (Independent).

Based on the same fundamental technology as the Internet and digital apps, NextGen TV can support a wide range of features that are currently in development. In addition to providing a new, improved way for broadcasters to reach viewers with advanced emergency alerts, NextGen TV features stunning video with brilliant color, sharper images and deeper contrast to create a more life-like experience.

Ball State PBS Hosting ‘Happy Little Fest’ in Honor of Iconic Painter, Instructor Bob Ross

Don’t let the name fool you. The Happy Little Fest, hosted by Ball State PBS on October 29, is going to be a BIG deal. Ball State PBS—which brought Bob Ross’ The Joy of Painting to the world for many years—will be celebrating the 80th birthday of the beloved painter and instructor. And the station is also celebrating its 50th year on the air.